»   »   » Abhishek, Preity for MTV Style Awards

Abhishek, Preity for MTV Style Awards

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Filmibeat

Wednesday, September 20, 2006
New Delhi (UNI): Lycra and MTV today announced the fourth 'Lycra MTV Style Awards' in which the most discerning style gurus and divas of the country like Abhishek Bachchan and Preity Zinta, will be awarded on October 14. After 'Desi Cool' in 2003, 'Circus' in 2004 and 'Military' in 2005, the theme for Lycra MTV Style Awards 2006 is 'Celebrating Style', which will be held next month at MMRDA Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai. ''We will announce the name of the big shot from bollywood next week who will showcase the event,'' said MTV Networks Managing Director Amit Jain.

The awards will be presented to the most stylish people in India across differnt walks of life, divided into three broad categories -- Popular, Technical and Honours. It will finally zero in on the most stylish people in fashion, films, sports, television, business, politics and music, be it the suave Abhishek Bachchan, the sprightly Preity Zinta, the latest singing sensation Himesh Reshammiya or television's sizzling host Mandira Bedi. For the first time the awards will go outdoors to make it bigger in terms of scale and size. Secondly, the size of the panel has been broadened to 29, instead of eight (in he last three years) to include more style gurus and divas as panelists from all walks of life.

Further, taking MTV style concept outside Mumbai, it extends itself to two more cities - Kolkata and Bangalore. In each of these cities, it would recognize and felicitate the 'most stylish place', a place that has a distinct character of its own, a place that has withstood the vagaries of time and a place taht has been a breeding ground for style and stylish people. The popular awards are aimed at recognising the most stylish people in the fields having the broadest popular reach, in he realms of music, television and films. The 29 judges including actor Arjun Rampal, Malaika Arora Khan and Adman Prahlad Kakkar amongst others will finalise the nominees in the three categories.

Shortlisted nominees in Popular category will then be up on-air as well as in the MTV website where the fashionistas of the world can log in, cast their votes and decide the winners. They can also vote through SMS. The The winners in the Texhnical and Honours categories will be decided by the panelists. In keeping with the theme, this year's function will feature with the year's chosen designers - Neeta Lulla, Ritu Kumar, J J Valaya and Rohit Gandhi-Rahul Khanna presenting their lines. Additionally, designer Suneet Verma will kickstart with a special line for the opening sequence that will set the tone for the glamorous evening.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Bollywood Photos