»   »   » Members quit from Film Awards Committee

Members quit from Film Awards Committee

Subscribe to Filmibeat

The State Film Awards Committee met with a setback yesterday with two of its members opting to quit for different reasons. Senior actor-director C.R Simha, who was recently appointed as the chairman of the committee was forced to quit when some sections of the media and film fraternity raised complaints of possible foul play since Mathad Mathad Mallige which is competing for the awards has Simha among its actors. Sources suggest that since there is no time to select and appoint a new person, a member from the committee will be selected as the chairman.

Actor Sankeeth Kashi, another member of the awards committee, quit saying that he does not have enough time since the job involved watching and reviewing films continuously for 15 days.

The other members of the committee include directors Kesari Haravu and Anand P. Raju, cinema journalist K.S. Vasu, theatre personality Malathi Sudhir, popular singer Rathnamala Prakash, cameraman Ashok Naidu and producer of Simhadriya Simha Vijayakumar.

More than 40 films are participating in different segments and the committee members have started reviewing films from 26th December.

Read more about: mathad mathad mallige

Get all the buzzing scoop from the world of entertainment - Filmibeat