»   »   » Mohanlal nominated for V. Shantaram award

Mohanlal nominated for V. Shantaram award

Subscribe to Filmibeat

Director M. Mohanan's blockbuster Kadha Parayumpol and P.T. Kunju Mohammed's Mohanlal starrer Paradesi have been nominated for the Best film award category of V. Shantaram awards 2008, instituted by Rajkamal Academy of Cinematic Excellence (RACE). Internationally reputed Malayalam film Naalu Pennungul, directed by India's master filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan, has been nominated for the best director award.

Malayalam superstar Mohanlal, actresses Meera Jasmine and Nithya have received nominations in the best actors" category for their performance in Paradesi, Calcutta News and Aakashgopuram respectively.

The V. Shantaram awards, which will be given away on December 26, are instituted in honor of the legendary Dr. V. Shantaram, renowned Indian producer-director-actor, most known for his films like Dr. Kotnis Ki Amar Kahani (1946), Amar Bhoopali (1951), Jhanak Jhanak Payal Baje (1955), Do Aankhen Barah Haath (1957), Navrang (1959), Duniya Na Mane (1937) and Pinjra (1973).

Meanwhile, actor-filmmaker Aamir Khan's directorial debut Taare Zameen Par, India's official entry for the Oscars, has been nominated in seven different categories. Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par), Ashutosh Gowarikar (Jodhaa Akbar), Girish Kasarvali (Gulabi Talkies), Mangesh Hadawale (Tingya), Neeraj Pandey (A Wednesday) are also vying for the best director awards.

The contenders for the best actor trophy include Darsheel Safary (Taare Zameen Par), Hrithik Roshan (Jodhaa Akbar), Kamal Haasan (Dasavathaaram) and Naseeruddin Shah (A Wednesday). Aishwarya Rai Bachchan (Jodhaa Akbar), Asin (Dasavathaaram), and Amrita Rao (Welcome to Sajjanpur) have received nominations in the best actress category.

Get all the buzzing scoop from the world of entertainment - Filmibeat