Amrita Film Awards 2009

    By Super Admin

    Noted script writer-turned-director Ranjith's latest Prithviraj-Priyamani starrer Thirakkatha (2008) was adjudged the best film in the Idea-Mathrubhumi-Amrita Film Awards 2009. Ranjith is the best director. Mohanlal bagged the best actor award for this performance in Aakashagopuram, Kurukshetra and Pakal Nakshtrangal, while Priyamani won the best actress award for Thirakkatha.

    Writer-director-actor Sasikumar's much-acclaimed Tamil film Subramaniapuram (also spelt as Subramaniyapuram), one of the most realistic films made in Tamil, won the 'Path Breaking Movie of the Year' award. Malayalam superstar Mammootty and renowned actor-director-producer Sreenivasan won special awards.

    Other award winners: Jayaram (Popular actor - Veruthe Oru Bharya), Gopika (Popular actress - Veruthe Oru Bharya), Vineeth Sreenivasan (Best debutant actor - Cycle), Meera Nandan (Best debutant actress - Mulla), Jayasurya (Best character actor - Minnaminnikkuttam), Roma (Best character actress - Minnaminnikkuttam), Baby Nayantara (Best child artist - Swarnam), Siddhique (Best villain), Babu Janardanan (Best script writer - Thalappavu), Deb Jyothi Misra (Best music director - Calcutta News), Rafeek Ahamad (Lyrist - Laptop), Vijya Yesudas (Male singer - Gulmohar), Chitra (Female singer - Mizhikal Sakshi, Calcutta News), Santhosh Thundiyil (Camera - Aakashagopuram), Don Max (Editor - Thalappavu, Raudram), Gokul Das (Cinematography - Mulla) and Srijith Guruvayur (Make-up - Mulla).

    The awards will be distributed on February 21 during a four-hour star-studded entertainment programme to be held at the Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram. Presented jointly by Mathrubhumi Daily and Amrita TV, two major players in the print and electronic media in Kerala, Idea-Mathrubhumi-Amrita Film Award night will also feature performances by artistes and troupes from Bollywood, Kollywood and Mollywood. Over 30,000 people are expected to attend the show.

    The previous winners of the 2008 awards include Mammootty (actor), Meera Jasmine (actress), Arabikkatha (film), Shyamaprasad (director), Ouseppachan (music director) and Sreenivasan (screenplay).

    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X