»   »   » Annual Malayalam Movie Awards declared

Annual Malayalam Movie Awards declared

By: By: Arya Aiyappan
Subscribe to Filmibeat

The Annual Malayalam Movie Awards (AMMA) has been declared this Sunday. The award has brought along with it a spate of surprises and also reinforced some expectations. The epic movie Pazhassi Raja has been unanimously selected as the best movie of the year. However the award for the best actor went for Mohanlal for his superb rendering in Bhramaram. Kanika has walked away with the best actress award for Bhagyadevatha and Pazhassi Raja.

Hariharan has bagged the best director award for Pazhassi Raja. Pazhassi Raja has walked away with the maximum number of awards - M T Vasudevan Nair (Best Screenplay), Resul Pookutty, Amritha Preetham (Best Sound), Ilayaraja (best music) and Padmapriya (Special award). However what remains still perturbing is that Mammootty who essayed the title role has not received any acclaim for his rendition.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan has received special recognition for his meaningful contribution towards Malayalam cinema. Manoj K Jayan, Meera Nandan, Jagathy Sreekumar, K P A C Lalitha, Sasikumar, Jagadeesh, Baby Nivedhitha, Mohan Sithara, Vayalar Sharath, Ajayan Vincent, Rajesh Jayaraman, Yaseer Sali and Vimmy Mariyam are the others who have also got their share of glory.

To Harihar Nagar has been chosen as the most popular film, while Passenger walked away the best movie made with a purpose of commitment award. The awards will be handed over on the November 6 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Malayalam Photos