»   »   » Director Syamaprasad Turns Actor!

Director Syamaprasad Turns Actor!

Posted By:
Subscribe to Filmibeat

Popular Malayalam director Syamaprasad is all set to try his luck as an actor. He will be seen in the upcoming movie One By Two, directed by Arunkumar Aravind. The movie is said to be a psycho-thriller. Syamaprasad plays the role of a psychiatrist in this film.

Fahad Fazil and Muraly Gopi will be seen playing the male lead roles in the movie. Honey Rose and Isha Talwar are playing the female leads in One By Two. The director of the film said that he wanted Syamaprasad to do the role as he would perfectly fit into it. When approached, Syamaprasad readily agreed to do the character.

Shruthi Ramakrishnan, Ashwin Mathew, Azhakar Perumal, are the other characters seen in supporting roles. B Rakesh is the producer of this film. Jeymon has done the scripting of the film. Joemon Thomas has wielded the camera. Music is composed by Gopi Sunder.

One By Two is expected to go on floors by August. Bangalore, Mysore and Palakkad will be the major locations for the film.

Check ot the slideshow to know more about Shyamaprasad and his movies...

Shyamaprasad – The Director

Syamaprasad is the son of the BJP leader O Rajagopal. He had done documentaries for TV and cinema, and have won several national and state awards. His films had been showcased in several prestigious film festivals such as Karlovy Vary, Tokyo, Cairo, Brisbane, Benodet, Tehran, Florence, and Fukuoka. Click on the next slides to know more about his films.

Kallu Kondoru Pennu (1998)

It was a 1998 movie which had Suresh Gopi, Vijayashanthi and Dileep playing lead roles. The movie was about an unmarried nurse from Dubai, who adopts a young kid.

Agnisakshi (1999)

The movie is based on the novel written by Lalithambika Antharjanam. The film premiered at the Soorya Festival on 14 September, 1998. It had Rajat Kapoor, Shobana, Srividya, Praveena, Madhupal and Madambu Kunhukuttan in the cast.

The film had won National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Malayalam, Kerala State Film Award for Best Director, Kerala State Film Award for Best Film, Kerala Film Critics Award for Best Film, Kerala Film Critics Award for Best Director, Asianet Special Jury Award, and Filmfare Award for Best Director.

Bokshu: The Myth (2002)

The movie was an Indo-American co-production in English. Nandana Sen, Heather Prete, Vineeth were seen in lead roles.

Akale (2004)

The movie, which was inspired from the American classic play The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams had Prithviraj Sukumaran, Sheela and Geetu Mohandas in lead roles.

The movie had won National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Malayalam, Kerala State Film Award for Best Director, Kerala State Film Award for Best Film, Chennai Filmfans Association Award for Best Malayalam Film, and Mathrubhumi Film Award Special Jury Prize.

Ore Kadal ( 2007)

The film examines the extramarital relationship between an intellectual economist and a housewife. It stars Mammootty, Meera Jasmine, Narain and Ramya Krishnan. Ore Kadal was chosen as the inaugural film of the Indian Panorama section at the International Film Festival of India.

It had won FIPRESCI Award for Best Malayalam Film at the International Film Festival of Kerala NETPAC Award for Best Malayalam film at the International Film Festival of Kerala, The German Star at the Stuttgart Film Festival, Kerala Film Critics Award for Best Feature Film, Kerala Film Critics Award for Best Direction, Kerala State Film Award for Second Best Film, Amrita Film Award for Best Director, AMMA Annual Movie Award for Best Film, John Abraham Award for Best Feature Film, and Malayalam Viewers Award for Best Film.

Ritu (2009)

The original screenplay was written by Joshua Newtonn. This was the first time Shyamaprasad had chosen to film an original screenplay. All of his previous films were adaptations of published novels or plays.

Ritu marked the debut of Asif Ali, Nishan and Rima Kallingal in the industry. Rahulraj won the Kerala State Film Award for Best Original Background score, surpassing Ilayaraja's acclaimed score for Pazhassiraja. The movie participated at the Valladolid International film festival held at Spain 2010.

Kerala Cafe (2010)

The movie was directed by a team of ten directors including Lal Jose, Shaji Kailas, Anwar Rasheed, Shyamaprasad, B Unnikrishnan, Revathy, Anjali Menon, M Padmakumar, Shankar Ramakrishnan and Uday Ananthan.

The cast included Mammootty, Suresh, Gopi, Dileep, Sreenivasan, Prithviraj, Siddique, Jayasurya, Sreenath, Rahman, Thilakan and Jagathy Sreekumar.

Elektra (2010)

Elektra had Nayantara, Manisha Koirala, Prakash Raj, Biju Menon and Skanda Ashok in the lead. It was produced by NB Vindhyan, who also produced Shyamaprasad's Ore Kadal.

The film premiered at the International Film Festival of India in November 2010. It made its international premiere at the 7th Dubai International Film Festival. Syamaprasad won Kerala State Film Award for Best Director.

Arike (2012)

Dileep, Samvrutha Sunil and Mamta Mohandas played lead roles in Arike. The film was based on a Bengali short story by Sunil Gangopadhyay. The movie was about the shades of love that vary in a relationship woven around three individuals.

English (2013)

The movie stars Jayasurya, Mukesh, Nivin Pauly, Nadia Moidu, Remya Nambeesan and Sinu Pillai playing lead roles. The film tells the story of the lives of the Malayalis living in London, United Kingdom. English can be regarded as a drama with slight tinges of black humour and satire.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Malayalam Photos