»   »   » Jagathy Sreekumar gets P Bhasakaran award

Jagathy Sreekumar gets P Bhasakaran award

Posted By:
Subscribe to Filmibeat
Jagathy Sreekumar
Thiruvananthapuram: Jagathy Sreekumar, who has played a variety of roles in over 1,000 films in his four decade-long career, has been chosen for the P Bhaskaran award for all-round contribution to cinema. The award instituted by P Bhaskaran Foundation in memory of the renowned poet and filmmaker, would be presented at a function here on February 25, Indrababu, Jury chairman, told reporters here.

Jagathy is currently hospitalised at Vellore in Tamil Nadu, recuperating from the injuries he suffered in a road accident last year. The Foundation's special awards went to senior actors GK Pillai, Kaviyoor Ponnamma, Jagadish, Vijayaraghavan and Maniyanpilla Raju. Girish Puliyoor's collection of poems 'Orikkal nee enne vilichunarthanam' was selected for the poetry award.

In the film awards section, Ustad Hotel, directed by Anwar Rasheed, was chosen as the best film of 2012 and Lal Jose was adjudged best director for his film Ayalum nhanum Thammil. Other winners were Dileep (best actor), Reema Kallingal (best actress), Dulquer Salman (debut actor), Namita Pramod (debut actress), Murali Gopi (story), Indrajith, Mythili (special Jury prize), Anjali Menon (script) and Azhagappan (cinematography). The Foundation's media award was won by Asianet Chief Editor TN Gopakumar. Journalists Jayan Menon, Anil Nambiar, Jayasankar, Lakshmi Nair, Ranjini Jose, Kollam Mohan, Aji M Noohu and CP Ajitha got media awards in various categories.


Read more about: jagathy sreekumar

Get all the buzzing scoop from the world of entertainment - Filmibeat