Kerala State Film Awards 2015: Why Jury Denied Mammootty?

    By Akhila Menon

    Kerala State Film Awards 2015 is landing into new controversies. As per the revelations of the award jury, Mammootty was denied the Best Actor award due to some silly reasons.

    According to the jury members, Mammootty was denied the award, as he is too good looking for the character CK Raghavan in Munnariyippu, who is a convict. It is also rumoured that Mammootty's political stand and the recent lamp lighting issue has affected the award results.

    The jury's revelations have hurt the Munnariyippu cast and crew members. Writer Unni R openly stated that Mammootty's portrayal of CK Raghavan was well-accepted and he doesn't need any awards for his performance.

    Mammootty, on the other hand, hasn't responded to the statements of jury members yet. But the statements hasn't gone well with the fans and well-wishers of the actor. The jury has been heavily trolled on the social media upon the issue.

    Popular actors, including Joy Mathew and Meera Nandan have publicly disapproved the award results. Joy Mathew stated his disapproval upon the State Awards through a recent Facebook post.

    Meera Nandan, on the other hand, has congratulated the Award Winners including Nivin Pauly and Nazriya Nazim. But the actress has asked an explanation from the jury for not considering Jayasurya's performance in Apothecary.

    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X