»   »   » 6 Malayalam Celebrities Who Contested In Elections

6 Malayalam Celebrities Who Contested In Elections

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Filmibeat

The upcoming 2016 Kerala Assembly Elections has a peculiarity associated with it. Probably, it would be for the first time that names of many film celebrities are popping up in the list of probable candidates. If reports are to be believed, actors like Jagadish, Siddique and Mukesh are all set to contest from various constituencies. But, nobody has given a confirmation regarding this.

Let us take a look into some of the Malayalam film celebrities who have contested in elections in the past.

Ramu Kariat

He is one among the first Malayalam film celebrities to have contested in an assembly election. The veteran film director had contested in the Kerala Assembly Elections in the year 1965, as an independent candidate with support from the left party. He contested from Nattika in Thrissur district and emerged victorious.

K B Ganesh Kumar

K B Ganesh Kumar is undeniably one of the most successful actor turned politicians. He has had a cent percent winning record in his constituency Pathanapuram as a candidate of Kerala Congress. He first contested in the year 2001 and emerged victorious. He went on to handle various portfolios in the ministry.


Well, this man is the only Member of Parliament among the many Malayalam celebrities. He had the guts to contest in the elections and the will to emerge victorious. He contested as an independent candidate from Chalakkudy constituency with the support of LDF.


Devan had formed a party named Kerala People's Party and he did contest the 2001 Assembly elections as an independent candidate. His efforts went in vain as he faced a defeat back then.


Murali, who was associated with CPI(M), had come up to contest Kerala assembly elections in 1999. He contested from Alappuzha constituency and he too, had too face a defeat.

Lenin Rajendran

This award-winning director had to taste defeat at the 1991 Lok Sabha polls. He contested from Ottapaalam constituency as a CPM candidate, but lost to former President of India, Mr K R Narayanan.

Unlike its neighbouring states, people of Kerala have not been so lenient towards their stars, when general elections are concerned. Actors like Prem Nazir and Sheela had joined Congress Party in the past, but never contested in the elections.

Initially, there were confirmed news that veteran actress KPAC Lalitha would be contesting this year's elections from Vadakkencherry constituency as an independent candidate with the backing of CPM. But, latest reports say that she has withdrawn from that, citing health issues.

Read more about: innocent, siddique, mukesh
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Malayalam Photos