»   »   » Rajini, Kamal gets TN Govt Awards

Rajini, Kamal gets TN Govt Awards

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Filmibeat

Thursday, September 06, 2007

Chennai, Sep 6 (UNI) Superstars Rajinikanth and Kamal Hassan have been selected as the best male actors and Jyothika and Priyamani as the best female actresses by the Tamil Nadu Government for the year 2005 and 2006 respectively.

While Rajinikanth and Jyothika were chosen for their performance in the runaway hit Chandramukhi released in 2005, Kamal was picked for his role as police officer in Vettaiyadu Vilayadu and Priyamani for her role as village belle in Paruthi Veeran 2006.

The awards, announced by the Tamil Nadu Government, would be presented by Chief Minister M Karunanidhi at a function to be held in the city.

Actors Surya and Vijay have been selected for 'special prizes' in the best actor category for their roles in Ghajini and Thirupaachi (both 2005) respectively. Meera Jasmine also gets the best actress special prize.

For the year 2006, Veyyil gets the Best Film Award, while Karthi (Paruthiveeran) and Sandhya (Dishoom) would get best actor/actress special prize awards respectively.

An official release here today said Director Rama Narayanan has been chosen for the Anna Award, actor Vivek (Kalaivanar Award), director Thangar Bachan (Raja Sando Award), lyricist Thamarai (Bharathidasan Award), actor Ajith (MGR Award), poet Pa Vijay (Kannadasan Award), actor Vikram (Sivaji Ganesan Award) and playback singer T M Soundararajan (Thyagaraja Bhagavathar Award).

Get all the buzzing scoop from the world of entertainment - Filmibeat