Celebs » Raghu Dixit » Biography

The Raghu Dixit Project, founded by Raghu Dixit, is an open house for musicians and artistes from different genres to come together, collaborate and create a dynamic sound and expression. Though a gold medalist in Masters in Microbiology and a proficient Indian Classical Dancer (Vidwat in Bharatanatyam).

Raghupathy Dixit is now known more as a self-taught guitarist-singer-composer-song writer-musician,basically from Mysore Settled in Bengaluru. As the founder-front man of his band Antaragni for more than eight years, and now of The Raghu Dixit Project, Raghu has performed more than 250 concerts all over India. His band The Raghu Dixit Project has launched its debut album.

Raghu's music is a seamless amalgamation of Indian ethnic music and styles from different parts of the world. His lyrics though intense, are simple and speak about every common man's emotions and experiences, therefore, making his songs extremely popular among his fans. Inserting Indian ethnic folk, Sufi and classical phrases cleverly into his songs, Raghu’s singing style can be described as unique at best. His vocal range and versatility has often been appreciated with awe. His songs Mysore se aayi, Mumbai, Antaragni, Hey Bhagwan, Har Saans Mein, Gudugudiya and many more are very popular among his fans.

Raghu has also produced music for contemporary dance and theatre productions. He has composed and produced music for most of the productions by one of the leading contemporary dance groups of India, Nritarutya. Girish Karnad's Hayavadana for TopCast and Black Coffee's Body Catcher have been his most famous works that brought him critical acclaim as a composer for theatre productions.

In May 2008 Raghu joined Springboard Surprises' Roots Festival for a number of shows, touring many towns and cities within the North-East of India, with international acts including Israel's DUB LFO and England's Too Late Lucy.Raghu Dixit also composes music for feature films.

Discography 2008: Raghu Dixit
Raghu's self titled debut album was launched by the popular music director duo Vishal-Shekhar on their new independent record label 'Vishal & Shekhar Music' which collaborated with Counter Culture Records for this release. Raghu Dixit was the first artist to be launched on this new label.

The debut album has 8 songs. The track listing on the album is as follows

    * Hey Bhagwan
    * Mysore Se Aayi
    * Gudugudiya
    * Ambar
    * Khidki
    * No man will ever love you, like I do
    * I'm in Mumbai, waiting for a miracle
    * Soruthihudu Maniya Maligi


Most of his songs are influenced by Shishunala Sharif 1819-1889) was a saint poet, philosopher and social reformer from the state of Karnataka in India.

His debut in the Kannada Film Industry "Psycho (ಸೈಕೊ)", as a music director, is a musical hit of 2008. Raghu dixit also composed and sung one song in Bollywood movie Quick Gun Murugan. His new Kannada movie Just Math Mathalli's audio got released which is doing well with audience.
He played many shows all over the world including UK, Korea, Japan, Russia, Hong Kong and India too. He has also performed in the Parappana Agrahara Central Jail of Bengaluru city. He also played at SAMA Festival, North East England (project organised by GemArts  and The Sage Gateshead), as part of a 6-day collaborative project involving folk musicians from Rajasthan and Northumbrian folk musicians from the UK. In 2007, he played at the French Kiss Tour – World Music Day (‘Fete de la Musique’). The Raghu Dixit Project performed with three renowned French musicians Anaïs, Emily Loizeau and Mademoiselle K. He also performed in the prestigious Indian Institute of Science on the eve of Miditha, a cultural fest.

Buy Movie Tickets